One Day in December


One Day in December – Josie Silver



Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn't exist. After all, life isn't a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there's a moment of pure magic...and then her bus drives away.
Laurie thinks she'll never see the boy from the bus again. But at their Christmas party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.
Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?
Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak and friendship, One Day in December is an uplifting, heart-warming and immensely moving love story that you'll want to escape into forever, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Nicholas Sparks.



Originality ♥♥♥♥♥
Quality of Writing ♥♥♥♥
Plot ♥♥♥♥♥
Setting ♥♥♥♥
Character ♥♥♥♥♥

Overall ♥♥♥♥♥

WOW. Wow, wow, wow… I did not think I would love this book so much – but I do.
I bought this book to read, not because of all the good reviews, but because upon reading the blurb I felt this book is so relevant to 20 somethings in London trying to make it through life. Basically, me. Yes, this book is primarily a romance, but there are aspects such as career, friendship and family-life which although not explored in depth, was to me important in making this book so readable.

I was really bought over by the idea of meeting someone on public transport, especially as in today’s culture, a lot of relationships are achieved or sought through online dating sites. But in this book, our main character, Laurie, meets the love of her life through the window of a bus one day in December. Except, of course, this fleeting glance is short lived, and her quest to find ‘bus boy’ begins. Enter, Sarah, Laurie’s drop dead gorgeous best friend and flatmate. It’s December one year later, and Sarah introduces her new boyfriend, Jack, to Laurie, unknowingly presenting to her Laurie’s Boy From The Bus. Shocked and disheartened, Laurie decides not to tell Sarah that her new boyfriend is the very man she’s been searching for the past year – and instead tries her hardest to focus on pretending her feelings for him doesn’t exist. That he is not the one.

I think it’s a very original idea – and a rather exciting one. We follow Laurie and Jack over the next ten years, their paths crossing and fading with time – how they react to each other around Sarah and how they cope with being apart. I love how each interaction is so honest and brutal and I love the ways in which Sarah’s relationship with both Laurie and Jack is developed. Each character grows in terms of maturity, longing and understanding. There are moments in the book where I could not help but shed a few tears, there are things you do not expect to happen, and there are moments in that are so significant to the train of events that you realise that the author has mapped this story out so perfectly.

I am so pleased I bought this book. I loved the characters, I loved the theme, and I loved the writing style. To be honest, I did not think a small-ish book covering ten years would work, but Josie Silver did a wonderful job in making it flow smoothly. This is definitely a book I would recommend for contemporary romance readers out there, but also for those who want to try something new.
You will NOT be disappointed.

5 stars.


(P.S - LOVE the cover)








If you've read this book or want to read it, please do leave a message below with your thoughts and questions!

4 Comments

  1. Don't think I've ever wanted to read a book more than I do this after reading your thoughts about it! I NEEED to get myself a copy asap!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YES! you do!!

      Very good book. But it will make you cry so keep tissues :D

      Delete
  2. I really really want to read this book. And I am just going to make a confession I actually started reading the book from the end so I have read the last 10 chapters.(I have a problem I know. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚).

    I loved how it ended and and the last dialogue the main guy says in the end that this whole story just made everything more interesting (I know he was trying to be funny πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚)

    its just I have got never ending exams going on. But surely looking forward to reading the whole book.πŸ’—πŸ’—

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You what?! Haha Wow that is an interesting way to read a book. Sometimes I have started a book a few chapters in - haha.

      I loved the ending too - it's so romantic yet realistic and makes you feel all gooey inside.

      Good luck with the exams and Happy Xmas and New Year!

      -Lena
      x

      Delete

♥ Hello! Please leave a message if you liked what you have read ♥

Search This Blog